In the fall of 1939, our founders purchases 12 acres of land to plant the seed for the perfect community environment for area Roman Catholics. They broke ground in the summer of 1941 and, despite the bombing of Pearl Harbor, laid the foundation on which the cornerstone was set on October 18, 1942.
With the firm belief that the development of the spirit is the primary goal when guiding children through their primary educational experience, construction of our lady of sorrows school began in October, 1954. The school opened its doors for the first time in Sept, 1955.
In the late 1980’s, Our Lady of Sorrows school decided to provide early childhood education and child care. In 1989, the Pre-School and Child Care center opened its doors to children from 18 months thru five years of age.
Today, our school, pre-school and child care center continue to strive to develop a life-long love of learning. We stand apart from others because of our commitment to help children develop a practical faith and moral compass which will help them take their place in the world with peace and hope.
In 1998, we began our Preschool and Child Care Center here at Our Lady of Sorrows. It seems like yesterday that we began that September with a group of sixty-five, three and four year old children. We only had two classrooms and a staff of six. We were only opened during the regular school year from 9 to 3. Our administrative office was a desk in the corner of the kitchen area. We didn’t even have a secretary and only one phone line. Yet the most important qualifications for educating that first class and future classes was established. We always tried to exemplify the kind of early Childhood program that was based on Christian principles. We treated every child as a gift from God. We reveled in the privilege of giving our children their first positive experience with school. We loved helping to build their faith with their families and we tried to service not only the child but the family as well.
Some things change and others never change. We still model our school after the same founding philosophy and Christian principles. We still thank God for the opportunity to educate our youngest family. That will always remain the same. But with gratitude our school has expanded to six classrooms. We have two administrative offices, a teacher resource room, a kitchen, video cameras in all the classrooms, a climate controlled environment, intercom systems, a front door monitoring system, three phone lines, a fax machine, computers for offices, teachers and for the children. We have a sprinkling system, fire monitoring, fire doors, two beautiful fenced in play areas. Now we can accommodate families and their children who are as young as six weeks up to kindergarten entrance. We are now open 5 days a week from 7:30-5:30. We continue to be grateful to our publicity committee. That committee consists of all the parents whose children have attended in the past or now attend. We thank you for all the wonderful recommendations that you are giving our school.